Sunday Anxiety: The Fear of Mondays and How to Overcome It

DarkLynx
3 min readApr 9, 2023

There is something that is very common among people who work and that I feel too: a sense of anxiety or dread that arises on Sundays, commonly known as «Sunday Anxiety.» This phenomenon is often linked to the anticipation of returning to work on Monday, even when individuals know that nothing negative is likely to occur. In this post, we’ll explore the reasons behind Sunday Anxiety and offer some tips that I am using for managing it.

The Roots of Sunday Anxiety

When I meditate on what happens to me, I always try to go first to find the feelings that cause the problem. As a result, I have seen that in my case the reasons are:

  1. The end of the weekend: The weekend is a time for relaxation, leisure, and catching up on personal tasks. When Sunday arrives, the realization that the weekend is coming to an end can trigger a sense of loss or sadness, which can manifest as anxiety. Even knowing that Sunday is 50% of the weekend.
  2. The Monday morning blues: The beginning of the workweek is often associated with a return to responsibilities and a more structured routine. The contrast between the freedom of the weekend and the demands of the workweek can lead to feelings of apprehension or unease.
  3. Workplace stress: For many people, work can…

--

--

DarkLynx

I am a designer and writer looking beyond the horizons of my actual possibilities, looking for new challenges